USB3FPGA: (1) More memory (2) Logic analyzer app (sump.org)

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen. Weitere Informationen

• USB3FPGA: (1) More memory (2) Logic analyzer app (sump.org)

Hello world,

I have inherited an unfinished application where the USB3FPGA may be a good fit, subject to positive answers to a couple of questions, but I am new to FPGAs and VHDL so am looking to increase confidence before suggesting USB3FPGA to Management. This had been a "start from scratch" project but due to resource changes we are now looking at our options to buy rather than build in order to save time and decrease risk.

The application isn't trivial but seems quite simple in FPGA terms, conceptually similar to a slightly cut down version of the Spartan-based logic analyzer at sump.org [1] which I discovered very recently (long after this project began). One difference is that the data to be recorded in any given location is based on the already recorded data from earlier in the run, ie each cycle to be recorded needs a read modify write (an increment) rather than just a write. Another difference is that there is some preprocessing to ignore certain incoming cycles. The external clock will be an external clock at around 40MHz. If you were to imagine this as a "memory access profiling" machine (to help identifying hotspots) you would be surprisingly close.

So, the two questions: